Buy Tickets on Eventbrite

From Free Radicals to Key Characteristics

Celebrating Research to Action – Past, Present, and Future

Description: In the morning, we will celebrate the seventh successful renewal of the Berkeley Superfund Research Center, and forty years of the Smith Lab with talks and comments by distinguished alumni. In the afternoon, we will celebrate ten years of the “Key Characteristics” and imagine future applications.

Host: Martyn Smith, Director, UC Berkeley Superfund Research Program. With Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment, California EPA.

Venue: David Brower Center, 2150 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704. View Map

Date: June 10, 2022. Program 9am – 5pm. Reception 5-7pm.

Registration: Opens May 12. Fee includes lunch and reception.



Students and Postdoctoral Fellows
$25 online

General Attendees
$50 online

*Registration is limited by the venue’s capacity; please register early.



The meeting will be held at the:

David Brower Center
2150 Allston Way (between Shattuck Avenue and Oxford Street)
Berkeley, CA



The David Brower Center is located approximately a 6-minute walk from the Downtown Berkeley BART station. Head south on Shattuck Avenue (towards Oakland) and turn east (towards the campus) at the first intersection, Allston Way.



The City of Berkeley Oxford Garage is located under the Brower Center. The garage entrance is at:

2165 Kittredge Avenue (between Shattuck Avenue and Oxford Street). Parking rates for this garage can be found here.

Information for other City of Berkeley garages and off-street parking can be found here.



The nearest hotels are:

Hotel Shattuck Plaza
2086 Allston Way (at Shattuck Avenue)
Berkeley, CA 94704

Residence Inn by Marriott
2121 Center Street
Berkeley, CA 94704

Graduate Berkeley (Government rate available)
2600 Durant Ave
Berkeley, CA 94704



If you have questions or require an accommodation for effective communication (ASL interpreting/CART captioning, alternative media formats, etc.) to fully participate in this event, please contact Dr. Cliona McHale at or (510) 643-5100 with as much advance notice as possible and at least 7-10 days in advance of the event.